
FACT SHEET: 
 REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF YOUR SYSTEM 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

This information is provided as notice to you about the process of and requirements for satisfactory completion of your system. 
The property owner is responsible for disposing of sewage in compliance with the applicable state laws and rules. Read this document 
carefully to understand your rights and responsibilities regarding the completion, approval, and use of the system. 

TIMELINES AND FEES 

This document will be provided to you when your permit is issued.  The permit will 
expire one year from issuance.  Unless a more restrictive time line has been imposed 
upon you as a compliance schedule or permit requirement, the system may be 
installed at any time within that year (Note: Most permits carry seasonal and 
soil moisture requirements regarding time of installation).  

PERMIT RENEWALS AND TRANSFERS 

Permits are issued only in the name of the property owner and are valid for that owner only.  If the property changes ownership before 
the system is installed, the new owner may apply to have the permit transferred. The transfer may be granted if the application is filed 
before the original permit expires and if no other changes to the permit are necessary. Permit transfer does not extend the valid period 
before permit expiration.  Permits that have expired may be renewed to the original permittee and the application for renewal must be 
filed within one year after the original permit expiration date.  

SELF-INSTALLERS 

Most sewage disposal systems may be installed either by a licensed sewage disposal service, or by the property owner. Please 
notify our office if you intend to install your own system so we can provide you with additional information and consultation.  
As part of our service, we generally ask self-installers to stake out their system and meet with us for review and discussion prior to 
digging. 

PRECOVER INSPECTIONS AND CERTIFICATE OF SATISFACTORY COMPLETION 

Pre-cover inspections must be requested online at BuildingPermits.Oregon.gov or by 
calling (541) 967-3821. An “As-Built” record of construction which certifies 
compliance with all applicable rules and permit requirements must be completed, 
signed, and submitted to our office prior to inspection. The as-built may be submitted

with the online inspection request form, emailed to LinnEH@linncountyhealth.org or left onsite.  When the 
inspector makes the inspection, an inspection report documenting any needed corrections will be viewable in the online permit record 
and emailed to the installer.  

The following requirements govern the satisfactory completion and use of the system: 

• Failure to meet the requirements for satisfactory completion of the system within 30 days after either written notification or 
posting of a Correction Notice on the site constitutes a violation of Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 454.605 to 454.745, and 
Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 340-71-175 (5).

• Connection to or use of a system for which a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion has not been issued is a violation of OAR 
340-71-175 (6).

• Unless instructed to do otherwise, failure to backfill an installed system within 10 days after issuance of a Certificate of 
Satisfactory Completion is a violation of OAR 340-71-175 (7).

Note: If preparation for an inspection 
has not been completed, or required 

corrections have not been made 
when the inspector arrives, a 

reinspection fee will be charged. 

Note: Inspection requests 
must be made at 

BuildingPermits.Oregon.gov or 
(541) 967-3821 

LINN COUNTY ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH PROGRAM 
PO BOX 100 | 315 SW 4TH AVE | ALBANY, OR 97321 
PHONE (541) 967-3821 | LinnEH@linncountyhealth.org 
www.linncountyhealth.org/eh

http://www.linncountyhealth.org/eh
mailto:precoverrequest@co.linn.or.us
http://www.linncountyhealth.org/eh


• The property owner is responsible for disposing of sewage in compliance with the applicable state laws and rules. Sewage 
disposal services (installers) must be licensed and bonded, and the owner may take action against an installer’s bond (see below).

• ORS 454.705 (3) requires that every licensed installer must provide to each permittee (owner) a written notice of the name and 
address of the bonding agent and of the permittee’s rights.  This must be provided before the work is completed.

• ORS 454.705 (2) (b) states that any person injured by the failure of a licensed installer to comply with state statutes and rules has a 
right of action on the bond provided that written claim is made to the bonding agency within two years after the installation.

PERMIT CLOSURE 

When the Certificate of Satisfactory Completion is issued, we close our file on the site and the records are preserved.  If a permit for a 
new site expires without the system being installed, we scan the permit documents and close the permit file. If the permit expires 
without a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion having been issued, and we believe the system is in use, we will require the owner to 
reapply for the permit (renewal or a new permit, as appropriate). Enforcement action will be initiated if compliance cannot be 
achieved.  Enforcement action may result in a citation into court being issued to the property owner. A fine or civil penalty may be 
assessed. 
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