

LINN COUNTY ASSESSMENT AND TAXATION

P.O. Box 100; Albany, Oregon 97321 Phone: (541) 967-3808 FAX: (541) 917-7448

Internet: www.co.linn.or.us

Andy Stevens
Assessor & Tax Collector

The application fee for Farm/Forest Special Assessment is \$125.00. This fee will need to be paid when the application is submitted. Make checks payable to "Linn County Assessor".



Application for Small Tract Forestland

For owners of at least 10 acres and less than 5,000 acres of Oregon forest-

For Assessor's Use Only						
Approved Denied	Date received					
Disqualified						
Date:By:	Comments:					

land qualified under forestland special assessment (ORS 321.700–754)						
Your application must be file	d with the co	ounty assessor's	office by April 1.		**************************************	
Filed with the	***************************************	(County Assessor f	or the tax year b	eginning Ju	ıly 1, 20 ●
Please print						
Forestland owner's name (last, first, MI)			Social Security no. or federal identification no.		Business identification no. (BIN)	
Forestland owner's name (last, first, MI)			Social Security no. or federal identification no.		Business identification no. (BIN)	
Mailing address			City		State	ZIP code
Telephone Business: ()	Ho	ome: ()		Total forestland ownership (include		
☐ Check the box if you pu assessment. *Please se purchased the land: Has any part of this prope	ee the instruc erty been pla	ctions for filing d utted under ORS	leadline. Indicate the 	he name of the p Date of purchas ivided)? \(\sum \) Yes	orevious ow e: \[\sum \ No	
-Attac	h a copy of		ent forestland pro	perty tax state	ment(s) —	
Fill in the boxes below to show parcels. If you need more space		nd you want to ha			Be sure to i	nclude all contiguous
Property tax account number Map and tax lot		and tax lot or pa	arcel number	Number of acres	Description of the land uses	
As owner of the above described disqualified from small tract fore I am aware of the requirement to	stland assess	ate by my signatu ment.		of the potential tax	liability invo	lved when the land is
 I acquire tax lots that are cor I acquire additional forestland I sell small tract forestland th There is a change in the use 	ntiguous to sn d that results at results in n	nall tract forestlan in my owning 5,00 ny owning less tha	d I own; 00 acres or more of (an 10 acres of Orego	on forestland; or		
I declare under the penalties of fa and to the best of my knowledge				this application (ar	nd any accon	npanying documents),
X		Forestland Owner's N	s Name / Title (print)			Date
Forestland Owner's Signature*		Forestland Owner's N				Date
Forestland Owner's Signature*		Forestland Owner's N	lame / Title (print)			Date

*All individuals who have an ownership interest in the above forestland must sign. Attach sheet with additional signatures as necessary.

General Information

Definitions

Common ownership. Direct ownership by one or more individuals or ownership by a corporation, partnership, or association in which an individual owns a majority interest (more than 50 percent).

Contiguous parcels. Parcels that have a common boundary that is greater than a single point. Includes parcels separated by public or county roads, state highways, non-navigable streams or non-navigable rivers.

Forestland. Land that is being held or used predominantly to grow and harvest trees of marketable species and has been designated as forestland, or land that's highest and best use is growing and harvesting such trees.

Small Tract Forestland (STF). Forestland of an owner that meets the requirements below and is the subject of an approved application.

Social Security number (SSN)

The request for your SSN is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United States Code. You must provide this information. It will be used to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Business identification number (BIN)

The business identification number (if known) is assigned by the Department of Revenue (DOR) and used as your account number for filing timber tax returns.

Requirements (ORS 321.709)

To qualify for STF assessment, the following requirements must be met:

- The forestland that is the subject of the application must meet minimal stocking and species applicable to forestland under rules adopted by the Department of Revenue.
- The total Oregon forestland ownership of the owner is at least 10 acres but less than 5,000 acres.
- All forestland acres in a single tax lot and in contiguous parcels must be included in the application.
- The forestland must not have been disqualified from STF in any of the five preceding tax years.

All individuals who have an ownership interest in the forest-land affected by the application must sign (e.g., if owned by a husband and wife, then both must sign).

Application Deadline (ORS 321.706)

You must apply to the county assessor on or before the later of:

- April 1 of the first assessment year you want the land to be assessed as small tract forestland.
- Within 30 days after receiving notice of the land's assessment as omitted property.
- December 15 of the first assessment year you want the land to be assessed as small tract forestland if, for the prior year, the land was highest and best use forestland, and currently the land is being assessed at a value reflecting a use other than highest and best use forestland.

Note: If you own land in multiple counties that you want to have assessed as STF, you must file a separate application in each county where the land is located.

*Filing deadline for purchases of STF and continuing qualification (ORS 321.719)

If you purchased land under the STF option and you meet the requirements, you may apply to continue in the program. Application must be made within 30 days after the date the county assessor issues a notice of intent to disqualify under ORS 321.716.

You may file an application for continued qualification after the date stated above if:

- The application is filed on or before December 15 of the first year the land would have otherwise been disqualified from STF, and
- You pay a \$200 late filing fee at the time the application is filed.

Approval of application

The application is deemed to have been approved unless the assessor gives the applicant written notice of denial within three months of the application or prior to August 15, whichever is later.

Taxation of STF

Property tax on STF is based on 20 percent of the forestland special assessment value. Harvest from STF is subject to a volume-based severance tax.

Requirement to notify county assessor (ORS 321.712)

You must notify the county assessor in writing if:

- You acquire tax lots that are contiguous to STF you own.
- You acquire forestland that results in you owning at least 5,000 acres of Oregon forestland.
- You sell forestland that results in you owning less than 10 acres of Oregon forestland.
- There is a change in the use of any portion of your STF to a use that is not a forestland use.

Note: You may be disqualified from STF if you do not send the required written notice.

Disqualification or removal

The county assessor may disqualify lands that do not continue to meet the standards for this program. The owner of the disqualified lands will be required to pay an additional tax assessment. This additional assessment recaptures the amount of tax that was deferred while land was under the STF Option (up to 10 years). See your county assessor for more information.

Right of appeal [ORS 321.706(7)]

An owner, whose application has been denied, in whole or in part, may appeal to the Oregon Tax Court, Magistrate Division, 1163 State St., Salem OR 97301-2563; 503-986-5650; courts. oregon.gov/Tax/index.page; within 90 days of notification of the denial.